What is AGMARK Certification and FSSAI License

With the purpose of protecting the consumer from unsafe and unhealthy food products, Govt. has taken many steps. Amongst those who are getting registration with AGMARK and FSSAI. Where AGMARK is the Agriculture Mark and FSSAI is the Food Safety and Standards Authority of India.

Concept of AGMARK:

AGMARK means a mark of certification on agricultural products in India. This is done to ensure that such products are as per prescribed standards approved by the Directorate of Marketing and Inspection.

Concept of FSSAI:

Food Safety and Standards Authority of India was introduced with the aim of laying down standards for food articles in regards to their manufacturing, storage, distribution, and related activities to prevent unhealthy and unsafe food from reaching the final consumer in the country.

Both the authorities are employed to certify the quality of food articles and set standards for the business involved with food articles. Besides that, there are many differences between the two. This article will provide the basic differences between AGMARK and FSSAI.

The most common difference between an AGMARK and FSSAI is that AGMARK is a certification mark for quality of Agricultural Products, on the other hand, FSSAI registration/License covers all food products both agricultural and non-agricultural.

Details and Differences of AGMARK AND FSSAI


  • AGMARK is recognized as per the Agricultural Produce (Grading and Marking) Act of 1937 (amended in 1986).
  • The Directorate of Marketing & Inspection under the Department of Rural Development in the Ministry of Agriculture holds the responsibility to enforce and implement such an Act.
  • AGMARK is given to agricultural products in India confirming that they adhere to the prescribed standard approved by the Directorate of Marking and Inspection.
  • AGMARK is a type of Certification.
  • The applicant needs to apply to the Agricultural Marketing Adviser or any other officer of the Central or State Government authorized by the Agricultural Marketing Adviser as provided by the Act.
  • The concerned authorities after verifying that standards are being followed by the applicant provide the AGMARK certification.
  • AGMARK grade standards have been formulated for 227 commodities under the Agricultural Produce (Grading and Marking) Act, 1937.


  • The Food Safety and Standards Authority of India (FSSAI) has been set up under Food Safety and Standards, 2006.
  • Ministry of Health & Family Welfare is the administrative authority for the implementation of FSSAI.
  • The purpose of FSSAI is to lay down standards for food articles to administer the manufacturing, storage, distribution, and related activities of food operators.
  • All the food products are covered under FSSAI for obtaining registration/license before the commencement of the food business. 
  • The FSSAI registration/license is categorized based on turnover/activity/capacity.
  • The 03 categories of FSSAI registration/license are basic registration, State license, and Central license.
  • Both agricultural and non-agricultural products are covered for the FSSAI license.


FSSAI and AGMARK both secure the consumers from unhealthy food articles. The authorities keep a close check on the food business monitoring their activities and providing them with a set of rules that such business operators must follow. The business operators must apply with such authority in accordance with the nature of their business.

Related Articles